Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
2012 Conference Schedule
Share |

 

MONDAY, MAY 21, 2012, AFTERNOON SESSIONS

Date and Time

Person

Email Address

Topic

Monday,

May 21,11:00 AM until 4:00 PM

Michelle Henderson

Kris Pollard

and others

mhenderson@mercyhurst.edu;

kpollard@mercyhurst.edu;

Registration Area

Conference Registration

Exhibitor Registration & Set-up

Monday

May 21 1:00 PM until 2:30 PM

Mike Collier

mike.collier@eku.edu;

Main Ball Room

Creative Thinking: An Analytic Essential

Monday,

May 21, 1:00 PM until 2:30 PM

Adam Cobb

adam.cobb@yahoo.com;

Tuskegee Room

Challenges of Integrating

Intel-Ops across the USMC

Break 2:30 PM until 2:45 PM BREAK

Visit with Exhibitors

Monday,

May 21, 2:45 PM until 4:15 PM

Tim Walton,

Panel Moderator

Frances Flannery

Michael Deaton

waltontr@jmu.edu;

timrwalt@aol.com;

flannefl@jmu.edu;

deatonml@jmu.edu;

Main Ball Room

What’s Next for the Iranian Nuclear Program?

Monday,

May 21, 2:45 PM until 4:15 PM

Will Gilrain

gilraiwd@dukes.jmu.edu;

joecool1000@gmail.com;

Tuskegee Room

GIS Analysis of the Mexican Drug War

Conference Session Adjourned for the Day

Monday May 21, 4:30 PM until 6:00 PM

Visit with Exhibitors

Joe Gordon, Host

IAFIE President

joseph.gordon@dodiis.mil;

Main Ball Room

IAFIE STAKEHOLDERS

COCKTAIL RECEPTION FOR

· IAFIE BOARD MEMBERS

· IAFIE CHAPTER OFFICERS

· EXHIBITORS

· INSTITUTIONAL MEMBERS

· CONFERENCE SPONSORS


TUESDAY, MAY 22, 2012, MORNING SESSIONS

Date and Time

Person

Email Address

Topic

Tuesday, May 22,

8:00 AM until

4:00 PM

Michelle Henderson

Kris Pollard

and others

mhenderson@mercyhurst.edu

kpollard@mercyhurst.edu

Conference Registration

Continental Breakfast Served from 8:00 AM until 10:45 AM

Tuesday, May 22, 9:00 AM until 10:30 AM

Joe Gordon

KEYNOTE SPEAKER

David R. Shedd, Deputy Director, Defense Intelligence Agency (DIA)

joseph.gordon@dodiis.mil;

Welcome to the Conference and

The State of IAFIE

Keynote address and Q & A

"Preparing Analysts for the Tasks at Hand”

BREAK 10:30 AM until 10:45 AM BREAK

Visit with Exhibitors

Tuesday, May 22,

10:45 AM until 12:15pm

Joshua Rovner

Paul Pillar

Mark Lowenthal

joshua.rovner@usnwc.edu;

prp8@georgetown.edu;

mml@theintelligenceacademy.net

Main Ball Room Plenary Session

Intelligence Failures in Iraq: A Panel Presentation

Tuesday, May 22, 12:15 pm until 1:45 PM

LUNCH;

Visit with Exhibitors

Joe Gordon

Cathryn Q. Thurston

joseph.gordon@dodiis.mil;

cathryn.thurston@dodiis.mil;

Main Ball Room

Awards Lunch Outstanding Educator, and

Essay Contest winners (30 min.)


TUESDAY, MAY 22, 2012, AFTERNOON SESSIONS

Tuesday, May 22, 1:45 PM until

3:15 PM

Bill Spracher, Moderator

Robert M. Clark

Benjamin F. Freeman

David M. Keithly

Keith G. Logan & James D. Ramsay, eds.

Michael K. Metcalf

Katherine H. Pherson & Randolph H. Pherson,

Gary Ross,

william.spracher@dodiis.mil;

dk228@online.apus.edu;

keithlyd@earthlink.net;

rpherson@pherson.org; KPherson@pherson.org;

Authors Roundtable Discussion of New Books in the Field

Intelligence Collection (2012) CQ Press.

The Foreign Policy Auction (2012)

Publ unk.

The USA and the World (8th Ed)

(2012) Rowman and Littlefield.

Introduction to Homeland Security (2012) Westview Press.

Imperialism with Chinese Characteristics? Reading and Re-reading China’s 2006 Defense White Paper (2011) NI Press.

Critical Thinking for Strategic Intelligence (2012) CQ Press.

Who Watches the Watchmen? The Conflict Between National Security and Freedom of the Press (2011) NI Press

Tuesday, May 22, 1:45 PM until 3:15 PM

Brice Coates

coates.bw@gmail.com;

Tuskegee Room

Using the Historian Analytical Tools in Intelligence Studies

BREAK 3:15 PM until 3:30 PM BREAK

Visit with Exhibitors

Tuesday, May 22, 3:30 PM until 5:00 PM

Randolph H. Pherson

Mary Boardman

rpherson@pherson.org;

mboardman@pherson.org;

Main Ball Room

Countering the Iranian Nuclear Threat: Stuxnet and its Broader Implications—A Case Example

Tuesday, May 22, 3:30 PM until 5:00 PM

Lisa M. Crowder

Marilyn Peterson

Jim Lightfoot

Mike Collier:

Panel Moderator

lisa.Crowder@ic.fbi.gov;

marilyn.peterson@dodiis.mil;

lightfoj@gmail.com

mike.collier@eku.edu

Tuskegee Room

IAFIE Intelligence Education and Training Standards and Certification Program: An Update

BREAK 5:00 PM until 5:15 BREAK

Tuesday, May 22, 5:15 PM until 7:00 PM

Visit with

Exhibitors

Joe Gordon, Host,

IAFIE President

joseph.gordon@dodiis.mil

Main Ball Room

Networking and Social

Cocktail Hour for all Conference Participants

Hors d’oeuvres Served

Cash Bar

WEDNESDAY, MAY 23, 2012, MORNING SESSIONS

Date and Time

Person

Email Address

Topic

Wednesday, May 23,

8:00 AM until 4:00 PM

Michelle Henderson

Kris Pollard and

others

mhenderson@mercyhurst.edu

kpollard@mercyhurst.edu

Registration Area

Conference Registration

Continental Breakfast Served from 8:00 AM until 10:45 AM

Wednesday, May 23,

9:00 AM until 10:30 AM

Tracy Reinhold

Assoc. EAD, National Security Branch, FBI

Keynote Speaker

tracy.reinhold@ic.fbi.gov;

Main Ball Room

Plenary Session

Coordination and Collaboration Among Federal Stakeholders

BREAK 10:30 AM until 10:45 AM BREAK

Visit with Exhibitors

Wednesday, May 23,

10:45 AM until 12:15 PM

Marilyn Peterson, Moderator

Melissa Wynn

Nick Weimer

John Hodgson

marilyn.peterson@dodiis.mil;

mewynn@howard.edu;

nweimer@utpa.edu;

jgh161@psu.edu;

Tuskegee Room

Intelligence Community (IC) Centers for Academic Excellence Panel Discussion

Wednesday,

May 23,

10:45 AM until 12:15 PM

Edward M. Roche

Arsia Amir-Aslani

Philippe Le

Pierre Memheld

edward-m.roche@grenoble-em.com;

emr96@columbia.edu;

arsia.amir-aslani@grenoble-em.com;

philippe.le@grenoble-em.com;

pierre.memheld@gmail.com;

Main Ball Room

Use of Analysis of Competing Hypotheses (ACH) Software for Technology Intelligence and Business Intelligence

Intelligence Education – a Competitive and French Perspective

Wednesday,

May 23,

12:15 PM until 1:45 PM

Lunch

Joe Gordon, Host

Keynote Speaker:

Ken Sawka

Managing Partner,

Outward Insights

joseph.gordon@dodiis.mil ;

Intelligence Issues Confronting Business and Government, and Methods for Tackling Them

Main Ball Room


WEDNESDAY MAY 23, 2012, AFTERNOON SESSIONS

Wednesday,

May 23, 1:45 PM until 3:15 PM

Jeff Corkill

CDR Toni Gay

jcorkill@bigpond.net.au;

Toni.gay@uscg.mil;

Main Ball Room

Dropping them into the Deep End:

Introducing undergraduates to intelligence analysis through an immersive learning process.

Use of Case Studies and Structured Analytic Techniques in Intelligence Studies: USCGA Example

Wednesday,

May 23, 1:45 PM until 3:15 PM

Kathy Pherson

Mary Boardman

kpherson@pherson.org;

mboardman@pherson.org;

Tuskegee Room

Analyst’s Roadmap

BREAK 3:15 PM until 3:30 PM BREAK

Visit with Exhibitors

Wednesday,

May 23, 3:30 PM until 5:00 PM

Domenic V.

Chris Lindsay

Wayne C. Lindsay

 

 

wayne.Lindsay@forces.gc.ca

Main Ball Room

Fallout: The Nuclear Implications of a Decline

in U.S.-Pakistani Relations

Intelligence training in Support of the Tactical Warfighter in Kandahar, Afghanistan

Wednesday,

May 23, 3:30 PM until 5:00 PM

Wayman C. Mullins

Wm04@txstate.edu;

Tuskegee Room

IDP’s for Intelligence Analysts at the Dept. of Public Safety in Texas

BREAK 5:00 PM until 5:15 PM BREAK

Visit with Exhibitors

Wednesday,

May 23, 5:15 PM until 6:45 PM

Joe Gordon, IAFIE President, Host

Keynote and Cocktails

KEYNOTE SPEAKER

Theresa Chambers

Chief, US Park Police

joseph.gordon@dodiis.mil

theresa_chambers@nps.gov;

pamela_blyth@nps.gov;

Main Ball Room

Interagency Cooperation in the Management of Large Events: Case Examples

Mix and Mingle Q & A







THURSDAY, MAY 24, 2012, MORNING SESSIONS

Date and Time

Person

Email Address

Topic

Thursday, May 24, 8:00 AM until 10:00 AM

Michelle Henderson

Kris Pollard and

others

mhenderson@mercyhurst.edu

kpollard@mercyhurst.edu

Registration Area

Conference Registration

Continental Breakfast Served from 8:00 AM until 10:45 AM

Thursday,

May 24, 9:00 AM until 10:30 AM

Faith Lawless

Colin Wastell

faithlawless@columbus.rr.com;

colin.wastell@mq.edu.au;

Main Ball Room

US Intelligence Failures that Led to 9/11

The Benefits of Using Analysis Simulation Project (ASP) Methodology to Investigate Complex, Ambiguous and Uncertain Information

Thursday,

May 24, 9:00 AM until 10:30 AM

National Intelligence University Faculty

Joe Gordon

Bill Spracher and others

joseph.gordon@dodiis.mil

william.spracher@dodiis.mil

Tuskegee Room

Review of the Certificate Programs Offered at the National Intelligence University

BREAK 10:30 AM until 10:45 AM BREAK

Final Visit with Exhibitors

Thursday, May

24, 10:45 AM until 12:15 PM

Jared Stafford

Dit Talley

Wes Harden

dittalley@jhu.edu;

jared.m.stafford@gmail.com;

weshardeniv@aol.com;

Three perspectives on creating a course The History of Espionage for the JHU/DPSL M.S. in Intelligence Analysis Program

Thursday, May 24, 10:45 AM until 12:15 PM

Jeff Grossmann

grossmaj@stjohns.edu;

Role of Intelligence in Homeland Security

Thursday May 24, 12:15 PM until 1:15 PM

LUNCH

Joseph Gordon

joseph.gordon@dodiis.mil;

Closing Lunch: Remarks on the

next steps and next conference

Thursday, May 24

1:15 PM

Joseph Gordon, IAFIE Chairperson

joseph.gordon@dodiis.mil

ADJOURN THE CONFERENCE

THURSDAY AFTERNOON IAFIE BOARD MEETING

Thursday, May 24, 1:30 PM until 2:30 PM

Joseph Gordon

joseph.gordon@dodiis.mil;

IAFIE Board Meeting

The meeting is open to all IAFIE members to observe

5/7/2012 2:17 PM; Version 3.0


 

 

Search
Sign In